The Group

The Liberal Democrats at the LGA operate a full and open election process with all Liberal Democrat councillors in England and Wales whose councils are LGA members having a vote. Positions are normally elected ever two years with the last elections taking place in 2019 and the next ones set for 2021. The group is made up of the officers and all the members that have been elected to represent Lib Dem councillors in the range of policy areas that the LGA works on.

Officers of the Group


Howard Sykes Oldham

Deputy Leader

Ruth Dombey Sutton


Heather Kidd Shropshire


Alan Connett Teignbridge and Devon CC

Children and Young People

Mark Cory - Colchester (Lead)
Nick Cott - Newcastle

Community Wellbeing

Richard Kemp - Liverpool (Lead)
Doreen Huddart - Newcastle
Cllr Rob Rotchell (Cornwall)

Culture, Tourism and Sport

Gerald Vernon-Jackson - Portsmouth (Lead)
Chris White – St Albans and Hertfordshire 
Chris Hogg - Cumbria (Sub)

Environment, Economy, Housing and Transport

Adele Morris - Southwark (Lead)
Peter Thornton - South Lakeland & Cumbria
Stuart Golton - Leeds City (Sub)


Liz Green - Kingston-Upon-Thames (lead)
Dave Hodgson - Bedford
Caroline Leaver – North Devon (sub)


Keith House – Eastleigh and Hampshire (lead)
Adam Paynter – Cornwall                
Mike Bell – North Somerset (sub)

Safer Communities

Bridget Smith – South Cambridgeshire (Lead)
Jeremy Hilton - Gloucestershire and Gloucester City
Jon Ball - Ealing (sub) 

City Regions

Anita Lower - Newcastle (lead)
Gareth Roberts – Richmond 

People and Places

Heather Kidd- Shropshire (lead)
Sarah Osbourne - Lewes  and East Sussex
Cllr Stan Collins - Cumbria)
Stan Collins - South Lakeland & Cumbria (Sub)
Cllr Alan Knox - South Ribble DC (Sub)


Keith Aspden - York  (Lead)
Carolyn Lambert – East Sussex          
Roger Price – Hampshire (Sub)  

District Councils Network

Cllr Sara Bedford (Three Rivers)

County Councils Network

Jerry Roodhouse (Warwickshire)

Policy Co-ordinator and LGA Brexit working group rep

Chris White (Hertfordshire and St Albans)

FPC rep

Cllr Peter Thornton (Cumbria)