The LGA's media office provides the national voice of local government in England and Wales on the major news issues of the day for national, regional and local press.

Our team offers a range of services to journalists including:

  • issuing press releases
  • providing briefings and reactive statements
  • arranging broadcast interviews and; 
  • offering local case studies.

We have spokespeople available to talk on a wide array of topics including adult social care, child protection, education, housing, environment, finance, transport and public health.

You can call the media office 24/7 on 020 7664 3333 (out-of-hours voicemail will detail the on-duty press officer), email on media.office@local.gov.uk or contact a member of the team directly using their details below.

You can also follow us on Twitter at www.twitter.com/LGANews.


Matt Nicholls (Head of News and Internal Communications)

LGA corporate affairs

Email: matt.nicholls@local.gov.uk

Telephone: 020 7664 3225

 

Simon Ward (Deputy Head of News and Internal Communications)

Finance, Workforce

Email: simon.ward@local.gov.uk

Telephone: 020 7664 3147

 

Kayleigh Sandwell (Media Relations Assistant)

All general enquiries

Email: kayleigh.sandwell@local.gov.uk

Telephone: 020 7664 3282

 

Matthew Cooper (Senior Media Relations Officer)

Economic Growth, Public Health, Housing and planning, 

Email: matthew.cooper@local.gov.uk

Telephone: 020 7664 3007

 

Greg Burns (Senior Media Relations Officer)

Community safety, Transport, European and International

Email: greg.burns@local.gov.uk

Telephone: 020 7664 3184

 

Victoria Daly (Senior Media Relations Officer)

Children's and adult services, Culture, tourism and sport

Email: victoria.daly@local.gov.uk

Telephone: 020 7664 3308

 

Ruth Pott-Negrine (Senior Media Relations Officer)

Education, Environment, Improvement

Email: ruth.pott-negrine@local.gov.uk

Telephone: 020 7664 3351