LGA Vice-Presidents

Every year the four political groups at the LGA invite parliamentary representatives from the House of Commons, House of Lords, and European Parliament to be our Vice-Presidents.

After the invitations are received, these are then discussed and appointed by the General Assembly. All have an association with local government and act as its champions in their daily lives. The current list of Vice-Presidents for 2017/18 is below.

President – Lord Kerslake (Independent)

Name Region Political Party
Charles Walker MP Broxbourne Conservative
Margot James MP Stourbridge Conservative
Andrea Jenkyns MP Morley and Outwood Conservative
Bob Blackman MP Harrow East Conservative
Andrew Lewer MEP Northampton South Conservative
Julie Girling MEP South West Conservative
Lord Whitby   Conservative
Lord True   Conservative
Baroness Eaton   Conservative
Baroness Scott of Bybrook   Conservative
Clive Betts MP Sheffield South East Labour
Catherine McKinnell MP Newcastle upon Tyne North Labour
Steve Reed MP Croydon North Labour
Wes Streeting MP Ilford North Labour
Catherine West MP Hornsey and Wood Green Labour
Lord Beecham   Labour
Lord Kennedy of Southwark   Labour
Baroness Smith of Basildon   Labour
Lord Smith of Leighk   Labour
Lord Whitty   Labour
Derek Vaughan MEP Wales Labour
Angela Rayner MP Ashton-under-Lyne Labour
Jim McMahon MP Oldham West and Royton Labour
Meg Hillier MP Hackney South and Shoreditch Labour
Tim Farron MP Westmoreland and Lonsdale Liberal Democrat
Norman Lamb MP Norfolk North Liberal Democrat
Baroness Janke   Liberal Democrat
Baroness Maddock   Liberal Democrat
Lord Shipley   Liberal Democrat
Lord Tope   Liberal Democrat
Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Mandeville   Liberal Democrat
Baroness Pinnock   Liberal Democrat
Baroness Scott of Needham Market   Liberal Democrat
Catherine Bearder MEP South East England; Liberal Democrat
Wera Wobhouse MP Bath Liberal Democrat
Stephen Lloyd MP Eastbourne Liberal Democrat
Baroness Thornhill Mayor of Watford Liberal Democrat
Lord Storey   Liberal Democrat
Lord Scriven   Liberal Democrat
Baroness Jones   Independent
Keith Taylor MEP South East England Independent
Lord Best   Independent
Lord Adebowale   Independent
Earl of Lytton   Independent
Baronesss Howarth   Independent
Baroness Greengross   Independent
Baroess Grey-thompson   Independent
Lord Bichard   Independent
Lord O'Neill of Gatley Dwyfor Meirionnydd Independent
Caroline Lucas MP Brighton Pavilion Independent
Patrick O'Flynn MEP East of England Independent
Lord Kerslake   Independent