LGA vice-presidents

Every year the four Political Groups at the LGA invite parliamentary representatives from the House of Commons, House of Lords and European Parliament to serve as vice-presidents. All have an association with local government and act as its champions in their daily lives.

  • Lord Best (crossbench)
  • Lord Adebowale (crossbench)
  • Baroness Greengross (crossbench)
  • Baroness Grey-Thompson (crossbench)
  • Lord Bichard (crossbench)
  • Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb (Green)
  • Baroness Bennett (Green)
  • Bishop of St Albans  (crossbench)
  • Lord Wigley (Plaid Cymru)
  • Liz Saville-Roberts MP (Plaid Cymru, Dwyfor Meirionnydd)
  • Ben Lake MP (Plaid Cymru, Ceredigion)

The President of the LGA is crossbench peer Lord Robert Kerslake.

Previous LGA Presidents are listed below: 

  • 2015 - Present - Lord Kerslake
  • 2005 - 2015 - Lord Richard Best
  • 2002 - 2005 - Lord Ouseley
  • 1997 – 2002 – Lord Hunt of Tanworth

Go to the full list of LGA vice-presidents, including nominations from the other political groups.