Our local councils

The Liberal Democrats have just under 3,000 councillors across the UK, currently leading 67 councils across England and Wales.

Sixty-seven councils are led by Liberal Democrats, either in outright control or in alliance/coalition with other parties and in addition we provide the Deputy Leadership of another nine councils, giving a total of 76.

Arun: Matt Stanley
Bath and North East Somerset: Kevin Guy
Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole: Vikki Slade
Brentwood: Barry Aspinall
Broadland: Susan Holland
Cambridgeshire: Lucy Nethsingha
Chelmsford: Stephen Robinson
Cheltenham: Rowena Hay
Chichester: Adrian Moss
Colchester: David King
Cotswold: Joe Harris
Dacorum: Ron Tindall
Derbyshire: Dales Steve Flitter
Durham: Amanda Hopgood
East Devon: Paul Arnott
Eastbourne: Stephen Holt
Eastleigh: Keith House
Elmbridge: Bruce McDonald
Gosport: Peter Chegwyn
Guildford: Julian McShane
Harborough: Phil Knowles
Hart: David Neighbour
Hinckley and Bosworth: Stuart Bray
Horsham: Martin Boffey
Huntingdonshire: Sarah Conboy
Kingston upon Hull: Mike Ross
Kingston upon Thames: Andreas Kirsch
Mid Devon: Luke Taylor
Mid Sussex: Robert Eggleston
Mole Valley: Stephen Cooksey
North Devon: Ian Roome
North Norfolk: Tim Adams
North Somerset: Mike Bell
Oadby and Wigston: Samia Haq
Oxfordshire: Liz Leffman
Portsmouth: Steve Pitt
Powys: James Gibson-Watt
Richmond upon Thames: Gareth Roberts
Rutland: Gale Waller
Somerset: Bill Revans
South Cambridgeshire: Bridget Smith
South Gloucestershire: Claire Young
South Hams: Julian Brazil
South Oxfordshire: David Rouane
St Albans: Chirs White
Stockport: Mark Hunter
Stratford-on-Avon: Susan Juned
Surrey Heath: David Whitcroft
Sutton: Ruth Dombey
Teignbridge: Martin Wrigley
Tewkesbury: Richard Stanley
Three Rivers: Sarah Nelmes
Tunbridge Wells: Ben Chapelard
Vale of White Horse: Bethia Thomas
Watford: Mayor Peter Taylor
Waverley: Paul Follows
Wealden: James Partridge
Welwyn Hatfield: Paul Zujowskyj
West Berkshire: Lee Dillon
West Lindsey: Trevor Young
West Oxfordshire: Andy Graham
Westmorland and Furness: Jonathan Brook
Winchester: Martin Tod
Windsor and Maidenhead: Simon Werner
Woking: Ann-Marie Barker
Wokingham: Stephen Conway

In addition we currently provide the deputy leadership of the following authorities:

Canterbury: Michael Dixey
East Hertfordshire: Mione Goldspink
East Suffolk: David Beavan
Folkestone and Hythe: Tim Prater
Milton Keynes: Robin Bradburn
North Herts: Ruth Brown
Pendle: David Whipp
Rother: Sue Prochak
Spelthorne: Chris Bateson