Every year the four political groups at the LGA invite parliamentary representatives from the House of Commons, House of Lords, and European Parliament to be our Vice-Presidents.

These are then discussed and appointed by the General Assembly. All have an association with local government and act as its champions in their daily lives. The current list of Vice-Presidents for 2015/16 is below.

President – Lord Kerslake (Crossbench)

Margot James MP Stourbridge Conservative
Charles Walker MP Broxbourne Conservative
Heather Wheeler MP South Derbyshire Conservative
Stewart Jackson MP Peterborough Conservative
Andrea Jenkyns MP Morley and Outwood Conservative
Baroness Eaton   Conservative
Lord Whitby of Harborne   Conservative
Julie Girling MEP South West England and Gibraltar Conservative
Andrew Lewer MEP East Midlands Conservative
Clive Betts MP Sheffield South East Labour
Steve Reed MP Croydon North Labour
Catherine West MP Hornsey and Wood Green Labour
Wes Streeting MP Ilford North Labour
Lord Beecham   Labour
Baroness Smith of Basildon   Labour
Lord Smith of Leigh   Labour
Lord Whitty   Labour
Lord McKenzie of Luton   Labour
Richard Howitt MEP East of England Labour
Derek Vaughan MEP Wales Labour
John Pugh MP Southport Liberal Democrat
Tim Farron MP West Morland and Lonsdale Liberal Democrat
Norman Lamb MP Norfolk North Liberal Democrat
Baroness Barker   Liberal Democrat
Lord Greaves   Liberal Democrat
Baroness Maddock   Liberal Democrat
Lord Shipley   Liberal Democrat
Lord Tope   Liberal Democrat
Baroness Bakewell   Liberal Democrat
Baroness Pinnock   Liberal Democrat
Baroness Scott of Needham Market   Liberal Democrat
Catherine Bearder MEP South East England Liberal Democrat
Lord Best   Crossbench
Douglas Carswell Clacton, UKIP UKIP
Baroness Greengross   Crossbench
Lord Bichard    Crossbench
Baroness Howarth   Crossbench
Lord Adebowale   Crossbench
Earl of Lytton   Crossbench
Baroness Grey-Thompson   Crossbench
Earl of Listowel   Crossbench
Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb   Green
Keith Taylor MEP South East England Green