Independent Group Executive

The LGA Independent Group Executive Committee is the governing body of the Independent Group. Together with the elected Group Leader, Deputy Leader and Treasurer, its appointed members, steer the Group's work, focusing in particular on coordinating policy.

Independent Group Executive Committee

Cllr Marianne Overton MBE, Lincolnshire CC & North Kesteven DC (Leader/Chair)
Cllr Caroline Jackson, Lancaster City Council (Deputy Lead/ Chair)
Cllr Andrew Cooper, Kirklees Council (Treasurer)
Cllr Colin Mann, Caerphilly CBC (Plaid Cymru Wales/ Co-opted)
Cllr Sue Baxter, Bromsgrove (Co-opted – NALC)
Cllr Chidi Nwere, Epping Forest (London and surrounds)
Cllr Caroline Topping, East Suffolk (East of England)
Cllr Tony Saffell, NW Leicestershire (East Midlands) 
Cllr Georgina Hill, Northumberland (NE, Yorkshire) 
Cllr Caroline Jackson, Lancaster (North West)
Cllr Craig Browne, Cheshire East (NW/West Midlands) 
Cllr Frank Biederman, Devon Council (South West)
Cllr Adam Paynter, Cornwall Council (National Lead Peer)
Cllr Tessa Hodgeson, Pembrokeshire (Independent Wales)
Cllr Andrew Cooper, Kirklees (AGC Rep)
Cllr Ian Stephens, Isle of Wight (South East England)

Meeting dates

The 2023/24 meeting dates of the LGA Independent Group are:

Thursday 25th January

Thursday 7th March

Thursday 6th June

Thursday 18th July

Attending a meeting

The Independent Group Executive Committee has an open invitation for Group members to attend a meeting of their Executive Committee.

Attendance at an Executive Committee meeting is a useful opportunity for members to learn more about the work of the Group and the LGA Members are asked to cover their own travel costs. These meetings take place every six weeks, at the LGA offices in London.

Should you wish to attend a meeting please advise the Group Office by contacting:
Abigail Gallop, Head of Group Office
Telephone: 020 7664 3206
Email: [email protected]
Mobile: 07780 226 852