Regional Group meetings

We are committed to take the benefits of our Group membership to where you are by offering frequent regional meetings across England and Wales.


Our regional meetings provide an opportunity to meet with fellow councillors, debate views and receive updates on the issues that matter to you most regionally, from the speakers you want to hear them from. Details of any upcoming dates are advertised below, as well as, widely communicated by direct mailing to our full regional membership.

The next regional meetings will be held in Autumn 2019, please look out for updates if you are interested in attending the next meeting. If you have any issues you would like to discuss, contact the office or your Regional Chair.

We particularly welcome offers of venues for meetings from our membership where these are not too costly. If you think you know of a suitable venue for a regional meeting please get in touch with us via Independent.GroupLGA@local.gov.uk or telephone 0207 664 3224.

East of England
Councillor Robert Bucke (Chair)
Tendring District Council
cllr.rbucke@tendringdc.gov.uk
East Midlands
Councillor Marianne Overton (Chair)
Lincolnshire County Council and North Kesteven District Council
cllrm.overton@lincolnshire.gov.uk
West Midlands
Councillor Alan Seldon (Chair)
Herefordshire Council
aseldon@herefordshire.gov.uk 
South East and London
Councillor Phelim MacCafferty
Brighton & Hove City Council
phelim.maccafferty@brighton-hove.gov.uk
North West
Councillor Geoff Knight
Lancaster City Council
g.knight@lancaster.gov.uk
Home Counties
Councillor Chris Townsend
Surrey County Council
chris.townsend@surreycc.gov.uk
North East
Cllr Wayne Davies
Redcar and Cleveland Council
Wayne.Davies@redcar-cleveland.gov.uk
South West 
Cllr Carolyn Rule
carolyn.rule@cornwallcouncillors.org.uk 
Yorkshire & Humberside
Councillor Paul Cullen (Chair)
Richmondshire District  Council
cllr.p.cullen@richmondshire.gov.uk
Wales
Cllr Colin Mann
Caerphilly County Borough Council 
colin.mann@caerphilly.gov.uk