All English councils are members of the LGA, with the exception of London Boroughs of Bromley and Wandsworth and Sheffield City Council.

In total, 435 authorities are members of the LGA for 2015/16. These members include 350 English councils, the 22 Welsh councils via the Welsh LGA, 31 fire authorities, 10 national parks via corporate membership through ENPAA, 21 Parish/Town Councils via corporate membership with NALC and one town council.


LGA membership offers the following key benefits - click the link above for more information.


How we lobby Parliament on your behalf.

Find your LGA contact

Regional advisers for your area.

LGA Associate Membership Scheme 

The LGA's associate membership scheme is open to organisations whose purpose and priorities align with those of the LGA.  

Members allowances scheme

More information on our scheme of payments to councillors attending LGA meetings.