The Group

The Liberal Democrats at the LGA operate a full and open election process with all Liberal Democrat councillors in England and Wales whose councils are LGA members having a vote. Positions are normally elected ever two years with the last elections taking place in 2021 and the next ones set for 2023. The group is made up of the officers and all the members that have been elected to represent Lib Dem councillors in the range of policy areas that the LGA works on.

The LGA Liberal Democrat Group  Leadership Team

Group Leader 

Cllr Joe Harris
Cotswold DC and Gloucestershire CC 

Group Deputy Leader 

Cllr Bridget Smith 
South Cambridgeshire DC 

Group Chair 

Cllr Heather Kidd 
Shropshire Council 

Group Whip 

Cllr Alan Connett 

LGA Liberal  Democrat Board members 2021-2023

LGA Boards cover all areas of a local authority’s remit and provides guidance to the LGA as it represents local government  at Westminster and advises councils around the country. Those elected members who served from 2019-2021 were as follows: 

Those marked with an asterix (*) are also members of the LGA Liberal Democrat 
Group Executive alongside the Group Leadership team)

Children and Young People 

Cllr Lucy Nethsingha (Lead)*
Cambridgeshire CC 

Cllr Mark Cory 
Colchester DC and Essex CC 

Cllr Dine Romero (Sub) 
Bath & North East Somerset Council 

City Regions 

Cllr Gareth Roberts (Lead)*
LB Richmond upon Thames 

Cllr Carl Cashman 
Knowsley Council 

Cllr Greg Stone 
Newcastle City Council 

Community Wellbeing

Cllr Sarah Osborne (Lead)*
East Sussex CC 

Cllr Mike Bell 
North Somerset Council 

Cllr Dr Wendy Taylor (Sub) 
Newcastle City Council 

Culture, Tourism and Sport 

Cllr Gerald Vernon-Jackson CBE 
Portsmouth City Council 

Cllr Chris White 
St Albans City DC and Hertfordshire CC  

Cllr Sean Macleod (Sub) 
Lewes DC 

Environment, Economy,  Housing and Transport 

Cllr Pippa Heylings (Lead) *
South Cambridgeshire DC 

Cllr Vikki Slade 
Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council

Environment, Economy,  Housing and Transport 

Cllr Stewart Golton (Sub) Leeds CC 

Fire Services 

Cllr Keith Aspden (Lead)* 
City of York Council  and North Yorks Fire Panel 

Cllr Jeremy Hilton 
Gloucestershire CC and Gloucester CC 

Cllr Roger Price (Sub) 
Hampshire CC and Fareham DC 

Improvement and Innovation 

Cllr Liz Green (Lead)*
RB Kingston upon Thames 

Mayor Peter Taylor 
Watford BC 

Cllr Paul Crossley (Sub) 
Bath and NE Somerset Council 

People and Places 

Cllr Emily Smith (Lead)* 
Vale of White Horse DC 

Cllr Caroline Leaver 
North Devon DC and Devon CC 

Cllr Stan Collins 
Cumbria CC 


Cllr Keith House (Lead)*
Eastleigh DC and Hampshire CC 

Cllr Richard Kemp 
Liverpool City Council 

Cllr Michael Headley (Sub) 
Bedford Council 

Safer Communities 

Cllr Heather Kidd (Lead)*
Shropshire Council 

Cllr Jon Ball 
LB Ealing

Cllr Kris Brown (Sub) 
Liverpool City Council  

District Councils Network Lead 

Cllr Bridget Smith*
South Cambridgeshire DC 

County Councils Network Lead 

Cllr Jerry Roodhouse* 
Warwickshire CC and Rugby Council 

Council Rep on Federal Board and Policy Coordinator 

Cllr Chris White*
Hertfordshire CC and St Albans DC 

LGA Properties Board 

Cllr David Neighbour* 


Cllr Howard Sykes MBE *
Oldham MBC