Lead members

The LGA Labour Group officers appoint Labour lead members and teams to LGA member structures.


The LGA Labour Group officers appoint Labour lead members and teams to LGA member structures. The lead members are part of the LGA Labour Group Executive Team. Their role is to establish Labour priorities within their policy and service area with their teams and ensure that this shapes the work of the cross-party LGA.

The lead members are the LGA Labour Group's principle political spokespeople in their respective areas. They lead external work in their policy and service areas on behalf of the LGA Labour Group, at meetings, events and by publishing articles. They also represent Labour local government with shadow ministerial teams to ensure local government's experience and priorities form a core part of Labour's national priorities. 

For full details of each LGA board's membership, meeting dates and work programme for 2019/20, please click here.

Our lead members for 2018/19:

Children and Young People Board
Lead chair: Cllr Judith Blake (Leeds)
judith.blake@leeds.gov.uk

City Regions Board
Labour chair: Sir Richard Leese (Manchester)
r.leese@manchester.gov.uk

Community Wellbeing Board 
Labour lead member: Cllr Paulette Hamilton (Birmingham)
paulette.hamilton@birmingham.gov.uk

Culture, Tourism and Sport Board
Lead chair: Clare Coghill (Waltham Forest)
cllr.clare.coghill@walthamforest.gov.uk

Environment, Economy, Housing and Transport Board
Lead chair: Darren Rodwell (Barking and Dagenham)
darren.rodwell@lbbd.gov.uk

Improvement and Innovation Board
Labour lead member: Cllr Judi Billing (North Herts/Hertfordshire)
judi.billing@north-herts.gov.uk

People and Places Board
Labour lead member: Cllr Simon Henig (Durham)
simon.henig@durham.gov.uk

Resources Board
Chair Resources: Cllr Richard Watts (Islington)
richard.watts@haringey.gov.uk

Safer and Stronger Communities Board
Labour chair: Cllr Simon Blackburn
brunswicklabourcouncillor@gmail.com

Fire Services Management Committee
Labour lead member: Dr Fiona Twycross AM (London)
fiona.twycross@london.gov.uk