Executive Team

The LGA Labour Group Executive has a total of 20 members. Led by Group Leader Cllr Nesil Caliskan, the team consists of elected officers, appointed lead members of LGA policy boards and the Leadership Board, the national lead Peer, and a nominated Metro Mayor. Collectively, the Executive Team share responsibility for developing and delivering the political priorities, vision and programme of the LGA Labour Group.

Councillor Nesil Caliskan is the Leader of Enfield Council and Leader of the Local Government Association (LGA) Labour Group. She became Leader of the LGA Labour Group in July 2023, representing the views of more than 6000 Labour councillors and 371 Labour groups in Westminster, giving local government a strong voice in challenging times, alongside a higher profile in policy and campaigns nationally.

Cllr Nesil Caliskan was first elected as Leader of Enfield Council in 2018 after serving as a councillor since 2015. Born and raised in Enfield, she was proud to be elected as the Council’s first woman and ethnic minority leader in the borough’s history. In 2022, following her re-election as Council Leader, Nesil was elected as a Local Government representative on the Labour Party’s NEC with the highest number of votes. She also serves as the Executive member for Health, Wellbeing and Adult Care for London Councils..

You can read full details of the members of the LGA Labour Group Executive Team here: