LGA Vice-Presidents

Every year the four political groups at the LGA invite parliamentary representatives from the House of Commons, House of Lords, and European Parliament to be our Vice-Presidents.

After the invitations are received, these are then discussed and appointed by the General Assembly. All have an association with local government and act as its champions in their daily lives. The current list of Vice-Presidents for 2018/19 is below.

President – Lord Kerslake (Independent)

Name Region Political Group
Charles Walker MP Broxbourne Conservative
Bob Blackman MP Harrow East Conservative
Andrew Lewer MP Northampton South Conservative
Simon Hoare MP North Dorset Conservative
Edward Argar MP Charnwood Conservative
Robert Goodwill MP Scarborough and Whitby Conservative
Helen Grant MP Maidstone and the Weald Conservative
Marcus Jones MP Nuneaton Conservative
Julia Lopez MP Hornchurch and Upminster Conservative
Maria Caufield MP Lewes Conservative
Tim Loughton MP East Worthing and Shoreham Conservative
Jeremy LeFroy MP Stafford Conservative
Mark Pawsey MP Rugby Conservative
Gillian Keegan MP Chichester Conservative
Dr Philip Lee MP Bracknell Conservative
Neil O'Brien MP Harborough Conservative
Baroness Couttie   Conservative
Lord Whitby   Conservative
Lord True   Conservative
Baroness Eaton   Conservative
Baroness Scott of Bybrook   Conservative
Baroness McIntosh of Pickering   Conservative
Baroness Williams of Trafford   Conservative
Rupert Matthews East Midlands Conservative
Clive Betts MP Sheffield South East Labour
Catherine McKinnell MP Newcastle upon Tyne North Labour
Steve Reed MP Croydon North Labour
Wes Streeting MP Ilford North Labour
Catherine West MP Hornsey and Wood Green Labour
Jo Platt MP Leigh Labour
Preet Kaur Gill MP Birmingham, Edgbaston Labour
Helen Hayes MP Dulwich and West Norwood Labour
Diana Johnson MP Kingston upon Hull North Labour
Anna Turley MP Redcar Labour
Mike Amesbury MP Weaver Vale Labour
Lord Beecham   Labour
Lord Kennedy of Southwark   Labour
Baroness Smith of Basildon   Labour
Lord Smith of Leigh   Labour
Lord Whitty   Labour
Derek Vaughan MEP Wales Labour
Jim McMahon MP Oldham West and Royton Labour
Tim Farron MP Westmoreland and Lonsdale Liberal Democrat
Norman Lamb MP Norfolk North Liberal Democrat
Layla Moran MP Oxford West and Abingdon Liberal Democrat
Wera Hobhouse MP Bath Liberal Democrat
Baroness Janke   Liberal Democrat
Baroness Maddock   Liberal Democrat
Lord Shipley   Liberal Democrat
Lord Tope   Liberal Democrat
Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Mandeville   Liberal Democrat
Baroness Brinton   Liberal Democrat
Baroness Pinnock   Liberal Democrat
Baroness Scott of Needham Market   Liberal Democrat
Catherine Bearder MEP South East England Liberal Democrat
Baroness Thornhill   Liberal Democrat
Lord Storey   Liberal Democrat
Lord Scriven   Liberal Democrat
Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb   Independent (Green Party)
Keith Taylor MEP South East England Independent (Green Party)
Lord Best   Independent (Crossbench)
Lord Adebowale   Independent (Crossbench)
Earl of Lytton   Independent (Crossbench)
Baroness Howarth of Breckland   Independent (Crossbench)
Baroness Greenfield   Independent (Crossbench)
Baroness Wolf of Dulwich   Independent (Crossbench)
Baroness Grey-Thompson   Independent (Crossbench)
Baroness Greengross   Independent
Bishop of St Albans   Independent 
Earl of Listowel   Independent (Crossbench)
Lord Wigley   Paid Cymru
Lord Macpherson of Earl's Court   Independent (Crossbench)
Lord Bichard   Independent (Crossbench)
Patrick O'Flynn MEP   SDP
Julia Reid MEP   Independent