Resetting the relationship between local and national government. Read our Local Government White Paper

Circular NJC 4/24 - Continual professional development payments: Payments by authority

National Joint Council for Local Authority Fire and Rescue Services 

Employers’ Secretary, 
Naomi Cooke 
Local Government Association, 
18 Smith Square, Westminster, 
e-mail: [email protected]

Employees’ Secretary, 
Matt Wrack Bradley House, 
68 Coombe Rd 
Kingston upon Thames
KT2 7AE 
Telephone 020 8541 1765

To: Chief Fire Officers
Chief Executives/Clerks to Fire Authorities
Chairs of Fire Authorities
Directors of HR (Fire Authorities)
Members of the National Joint Council

20 May 2024

Circular NJC/4/24

Dear Sir/Madam

Continual professional development payments: Payments by authority

1. Circular NJC/3/24 contains the revised payments with effect from 1 July 2024. The NJC has also agreed an increase of 4.0 per cent on the above payments with effect from the 1 July 2024.

2. Appendix A attached contains the revised payments by individual fire authority.

3. You will be aware that in order to ensure all employees receive a pay increase on promotion where they otherwise may not as a result of the loss of a CPD payment, the NJC applies a minimum guaranteed increase upon promotion in such circumstances. That figure will be £412pa with effect from 1 July 2024. For those on the retained duty system the figure will be £102 pa with the same effective date. 

Yours faithfully

Naomi Cooke
Matt Wrack
Joint Secretaries

Appendix A

Continual Professional Development (CPD) payments from 1 July 2024
Fire Authority CPD (£)   Fire Authority CPD (£)
Avon 921   London 1,144
Bedfordshire  811   Merseyside 872
Buckinghamshire 702   Mid and West Wales 768
Cambridgeshire 719   Norfolk 757
Cheshire 930   Northern Ireland 785
Cleveland 1,185   Northamptonshire 823
Cornwall 373   Northumberland 1,005
Cumbria 646   North Wales 776
Derbyshire 959   North Yorkshire 571
Devon & Somerset 683   Nottinghamshire 1,149
Dorset & Wiltshire 864   Oxfordshire 854
Durham and Darlington 1,047   Royal Berkshire 857
East Sussex 678   Scotland 1,000
Essex 738   Shropshire 846
Gloucestershire 712   South Wales 805
Greater Manchester 1,123   South Yorkshire 1,257
Hampshire & Isle of Wight 801   Staffordshire 865
Hereford & Worcester 842   Suffolk 492
Hertfordshire 896   Surrey 886
Humberside 878   Tyne and Wear 1,211
Kent 788   Warwickshire 724
Lancashire 879   West Midlands 1,169
Leicestershire 820   West Sussex 639
Lincolnshire 480   West Yorkshire 1,068