Workforce data standards

The final workforce data standards have been published by the LGA, DCSF and its partners. A review process will revisit the standards but no changes will be made to the data standards without full consultation with all partners and the sector as a whole.



Job roles

The workforce data standards includes a job role code set which covers 175 job roles undertaken in the provision of local government services, including children's and adults' social care services. The full list of job roles is provided below:


A set of guidance documents has been provided to enable operational users in research, statistical and client-oriented applications to use the job role coding in as consistent a way as possible and to enable users of any resulting data to understand the principles of classifications and coding practices according to which those data are produced. The guidance consists of three elements:

Volume 1: Job Role Guidance

This describes the principles, concepts and conventions used in the development of the job roles and provides detailed job role profiles (including typical tasks, training and qualifications and example job titles related to each role). At the time of publication only 110 of the 175 job roles have profiles provided. These profiles should be considered to be draft and will be reviewed and consulted upon over the coming 12 months before the guidance is finalised.


Volume 2: Job Role Index (pending)

This will be a searchable alphabetical index of job titles, giving the most likely job role to which each is assigned. It is designed for use in coding occupations. It will also provide a tool for helping identify the correct role within the role code hierarchy.

Volume 3: Job Role Mapping

This provides mapping details between the job roles detailed here and the classifications used in major workforce collections. Currently this covers the School Workforce Census and the National Minimum Dataset for Social Care.






Email: [email protected]

Published by:
Reference code: